Maturity Models

A maturity level is a well-defined evolutionary plateau toward achieving a mature process. Each level provides a layer for continuous process improvement. To start, let’s review the SEI CMMI, OMG BPMM, ABPMP BPM Maturity Model, and the OSIMM. There are also many more maturity models that exist but I will only cover these for now.


The Software Engineering Institute (SEI) has a defined Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) that helps build organizational capability in order to reduce costs, increase speed, and improve quality. The CMMI defines the following five maturity levels.

  1. Initial – process unpredictable, poorly controlled, and reactive
  2. Managed – process characterized for projects and is often reactive
  3. Defined – process characterized for the organization and is proactive
  4. Quantitatively managed – process measured and controlled
  5. Optimizing – focus on continuous process improvement


The Object Management Group’s (OMG) Business Process Maturity Model (BPMM) is intended for use in improving an organization’s business processes related to their products and services, independently of whether the products and services are for internal or external use. The BPMM is divided into the following five maturity levels that represent different states through which an organization is transformed as its processes and capability are improved.

  1. Initial — wherein business processes are performed in inconsistent sometimes ad hoc ways with results that are difficult to predict.
  2. Managed — wherein management stabilizes the work within local work units to ensure that it can be performed in a repeatable way that satisfies the workgroup’s primary commitments. However, work units performing similar tasks may use different procedures.
  3. Standardized — wherein common, standard processes are synthesized from best practices identified in the work groups and tailoring guidelines are provided for supporting different business needs. Standard processes provide an economy of scale and a foundation for learning from common measures and experience.
  4. Predictable — wherein the capabilities enabled by standard processes are exploited and provided back into the work units. Process performance is managed statistically throughout the workflow to understand and control variation so that process outcomes can be predicted from intermediate states.
  5. Innovating — wherein both proactive and opportunistic improvement actions seek innovations that can close gaps between the organization’s current capability and the capability required to achieve its business objectives.

ABPMP BPM Maturity Model

The BPM maturity model from the Association of Business Process Management Professionals (ABPMP) defines six maturity levels. The first five levels align with the SEI CMMI and OMG BPMM. The additional sixth level creates a differentiation between optimizing individual processes and optimizing coordinating processes.

  1. Initial, ad hoc processes (chaotic)
  2. Repeatable, stable processes (controlled environment)
  3. Defined, standard processes (consistent execution)
  4. Managed, measured processes (quality and productivity improvement)
  5. Optimized, effective processes (continuing improvement)
  6. Integrated, coordinated processes (cooperative optimization)

Continuous Delivery Maturity Model

In the book “Continuous Delivery: Reliable software releases through build, test, and deployment automation” Jez Humble and David Farley defined a continuous delivery maturity model. According to Humble and Farley, the Continuous Delivery Maturity Model was distilled as a model that “helps to identify where an organization stands in terms of the maturity of its processes and practices and defines a progression that an organization can work through to improve.” It defines five levels that align with CMMI and six practice areas related to continuous delivery.


The Open Group SOA Integration Maturity Model (OSIMM) provides a means to assess an organization’s Service Oriented Architecture (SOA) maturity level. It defines a process to create a roadmap for incremental adoption which maximizes business benefits at each stage along the way. The model consists of seven levels of maturity and seven dimensions of consideration that represent significant views of business and IT capabilities. The OSIMM acts as a quantitative model to aid in assessment of current state and desired future state of SOA maturity.